How not to make ravioli

04Nov09

Finally got Sophia Loren’s book, very nice, interesting stuff that I’ve not already seen in Hazan. And it’s fun to read, anecdotes, funny things and a lot of reveries. Some deep pontificating on the value of family meals etc.

Anyway there’s a photo of her making fresh pasta, and so I just randomly jumped up and made some. I have some whole milk ricotta and basil lying around, so I figured basil is green like parsley so I could make the classic ravioli with basil. Got it going in the pasta roller, and I had some reasonable pasta. Then I had to do some stuff around the house and I left the stretched pasta out on the counter.

No no — it dried up. And making ravioli with dry, brittle fresh pasta is hard. And I couldn’t think of a way to soften it. And so many of the ravioli broke, and the whole thing got too wet when it was boiling. Moral: when making ravioli, don’t wait around after rolling out the pasta, since you’re depending on the stickiness of the dough.

The sauce was a variation of the quick tomato sauce, just some canned tomatos with olive oil and some garlic that I cooked for maybe 10-15 min, not to the point where the “fat floats” as Hazan says. It was nice, bright, especially helped with the soggy ravioli problem.



No Responses Yet to “How not to make ravioli”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment